top of page
Zoeken
  • Foto van schrijverMr. Autumn

The story behind: Let's listen to the rain

Bijgewerkt op: 30 mrt. 2020

I had just discovered the genius of the young artist named Tamino, a Belgian/Egyptian songwriter with a voice of velvet gold and mythical prince-like facial features. His most famous song 'Habibi' is in the key of C#minor. One day I was noodling on my digital piano in the key of C#major, which felt like a very natural and warm key to sing in. I was reminiscing of the early days of my first relationship. I recall not having a double bed so we laid two mattresses on my floor and rested our heads on the old couch I had gotten from my Step-brother Apparently the guys from 'The Black Box Revelation' had crashed on that couch once, it didn't take away the fact that is was probably one of the dirtiest and crappiest couched I have ever know, but I digress. My girlfriend and I would lay under the 'Velux' window as shown on the picture and watch the stars. Days where young love still felt new and where we fixed our fights by quietly sobbing, huddling together and listening to the raindrops hitting the window.

After having finished the song it quickly grew to be one of my personal favorites to play live even with MakiMura. I don't know what it is about the song that makes it so easy for my voice to sing and convey emotion in at the same time.


4 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page