top of page
Zoeken
  • Foto van schrijverMr. Autumn

The story behind: By Your Side

Bijgewerkt op: 30 mrt. 2020

This song is another one about Luna, the same girl from 'Watchtower'. The origin of the song however, dates back to when I was about 17 years old in high school. I followed classical piano in the academy and was in music theory class with a girl I liked, let's call her Cindy. I had such a bad crush on her that I wrote this cliché love song for her. She never heard it though. We went on one date where we went ice skating. She wouldn't hold my hand and I didn't have the nerve to tell her how I felt. In hindsight she wasn't really anyone I would set myself on right now, but a teenage boy's heart works differently.

(Dust Sun Ghent, 2017)

Flash forward to 2017 where I was in a heavy Jeff Buckley period and experimented with rich chords in standard tuning. I tried to get a kind of feeling similar to 'Lover you should have come over' but maybe a little bit more optimistic. As I said, it's my most cliché love song I have, which doesn't take away that I love how 17 year old me could write pretty catchy choruses. Self high-five to my poor socially awkward teenage self!

(Santa Suzanna, España 2012)

For Luna's birthday I wanted to make a CD-compilation (What is this? 2001?) with love songs of my favorite artists and at the very end a recording of 'By Your Side' which I still haven't finished yet. In the end I never gave her the CD and it still lies with the rest of my CD's upstairs in Eeklo. I promised myself that whatever happens, when I have finished the studio recording of the song one day, I will give it to Luna. I don't really have any romantic feelings for her any longer but for myself I need to finish that one CD. One day I will.

3 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page